13_Thompson_Point (2006)_160The exceptional and unique character of this house, built in 1770, has earned it recognition as a Historical Monument by the Ministère des Affaires culturelles in 1975. Many historical data have confirmed that the house was mainly used for commercial activities, specifically the fur trade. Also, three “meurtières” on the front side indicate that the building could have been a fortified trading post. The foundation, between 69 and 91 cm thick, is composed of field stone. The basement roof is made completely of beams placed side by side as is the case for the Château Ramesay.