As part of our action plan for the maintenance of our sanitary and storm sewers, the City of Beaconsfield will be performing mandatory sump pump inspections in the North sector as follows:inspector

North limit: Kirkland border
South limit: Elm Avenue
East limit: Westcroft
West limit: Montrose

Over the years, the City’s sanitary system has experienced significant infiltration, causing undue pressure on the sewer network. The largest contributor to this surcharge is the illegal connections of residents’ sump pumps into the City’s sanitary sewers. Respecting the City’s by-law against illegal sump pump connections is important for numerous environmental, health, and safety reasons. Among them are the following:

  • An overloaded sewer system caused by illegal connections can lead to sewer backups in your home or that of your neighbours. Raw sewage can reverse especially if you do not have a proper backwater valve connection installed.
  • Sewage treatment facilities cannot handle the added volume of water, and as a result are unable to properly treat the wastewater that they receive and discharge.
  • The added pressure on our lines can cause pipes to burst throughout the City, as the sanitary network is not designed for such an influx of water flow. This phenomenon is especially prevalent in the spring and during periods of heavy rain.

If you are not home at the time that City inspectors passed by, we kindly ask that you schedule an appointment with one of our inspectors:

Click here to schedule an appointment online

or call Public Works at 514 428-4500 during opening hours.

At the time of your appointment, a City employee will pass by your home and verify that your sump pump is properly connected. The inspection should require no more than 15 minutes. Owners of homes with problems will receive information on corrective action and deadlines for compliance.

Inspectors will at all times arrive in a marked City vehicle, be wearing a “Beaconsfield” safety vest and possess a City identification card.

Dans le cadre de notre plan d'action pour l'entretien de nos égouts sanitaires et pluviaux, la Ville de Beaconsfield procédera à des inspections obligatoires des pompes de puisard dans le secteur nord comme suit :inspector

Limite nord : bordure de Kirkland
Limite sud : Avenue Elm
Limite est : Westcroft
Limite ouest : Montrose

Au fil des ans, le système sanitaire de la Ville a subi des infiltrations importantes entraînant une pression excessive sur le réseau d’égout. Les raccordements illégaux de pompes de puisard des résidences aux égouts sanitaires de la Ville sont le principal contributeur à cette surcharge. Le respect du règlement municipal contre les branchements illégaux de pompes de puisard est important pour de nombreuses raisons liées à l’environnement, à la santé et à la sécurité. En voici quelques-unes :

  • Un réseau d'égout surchargé causé par des raccordements illégaux peut entraîner des refoulements d'égout dans votre maison ou celle de vos voisins. Les eaux d'égout peuvent s'inverser, surtout si vous ne disposez pas de clapet de retenue approprié.
  • Les installations de traitement des eaux usées ne peuvent pas gérer le volume d'eau supplémentaire et ne peuvent donc pas traiter correctement les eaux usées qu'elles reçoivent et rejettent.
  • La pression supplémentaire sur nos conduites peut provoquer des ruptures de canalisations dans le territoire; le réseau sanitaire n'étant pas conçu pour un tel volume d'eau. Ce phénomène est particulièrement répandu au printemps et pendant les périodes de fortes pluies.

Si vous êtes absent au moment du passage des inspecteurs municipaux, nous vous demandons de bien vouloir prendre rendez-vous avec l'un de nos inspecteurs :

Cliquez ici pour prendre un rendez-vous en ligne

ou appelez les Travaux publics au 514 428-4500 durant les heures d’ouverture.

Au moment de votre rendez-vous, un employé de la Ville passera chez vous et vérifiera que votre pompe de puisard est correctement raccordée. L'inspection ne devrait pas nécessiter plus de 15 minutes. Les propriétaires de maisons ayant des problèmes recevront des informations sur les mesures correctives et les délais de conformité.

Les inspecteurs arriveront en tout temps dans un véhicule identifié de la Ville, porteront un gilet de sécurité «Beaconsfield» et posséderont une carte d’identité de la Ville.