FAQ about Building and Renovation Permits

Through the Town Planning and Permits Division of the Urban Planning and Municipal Patrol Department. However, only the property owner can obtain a copy of the plans for a small fee.
By submitting a request to the Town Planning and Permits Division. In the case of a new construction, following the council's approval of the project but prior to the issuance of the building permit, two copies of the complete plans signed and stamped by an architect, an engineer or any person authorized to do so by law along with a copy of the certificate of location must be submitted for approval before a building permit is issued. For all other projects such as building a fence or resurfacing a parking area, certain documents must be submitted. The Division's staff can provide information on the documents required and the cost of the various permits.
All projects for a new construction or an addition to an existing house must be approved by the City Council. First, a building plan of the project, drawn to scale, and a site plan must be submitted to the Town Planning and Permits Division which will forward them to the Planning Advisory Committee. This committee will then make recommendations to the City Council for the approval or rejection of the project. If the project is approved, the Town Planning and Permits Division may issue a permit.
Certain indoor and outdoor projects require a permit issued by the Town Planning and Permits Division of the Urban Planning and Municipal Patrol Department. We therefore strongly recommend that you contact this department before undertaking a project. For example, a permit is required for the installation of a fence, porch, heat pump, tool shed or pool.

FAQ sur les permis de construction et de rénovation

En s'adressant à la division Urbanisme et permis du Service de l'aménagement urbain et patrouille municipale. Cependant, seul le propriétaire peut obtenir une copie des plans de sa maison moyennant des frais minimaux.
En soumettant une demande à la division Urbanisme et permis. Dans le cas de nouvelles constructions, après avoir obtenu l'approbation du Conseil mais préalablement à l'émission d'un permis de construction, deux copies des plans complets, signés et estampillés par un architecte, un ingénieur ou toute personne autorisée à cette fin par la loi, ainsi qu'une copie d'un certificat de localisation, doivent être déposées en vue de leur approbation avant l'émission d'un permis de construction. Pour toutes les autres demandes, telles que l'installation d'une clôture ou la réfection de revêtement d'un accès au stationnement, etc., le dépôt de certains documents sera exigé. Les responsables du service vous indiqueront lesquels ainsi que le coût des divers permis.

Toute nouvelle construction ou tout projet d'agrandissement d'une résidence existante doit être approuvé par le Conseil municipal. En premier lieu, un plan en perspective montrant le projet proposé ainsi qu'un plan du site doivent être soumis à la division Urbanisme et permis qui les acheminera au Comité consultatif d'urbanisme. En second lieu, le Comité recommandera au Conseil d'approuver ou de rejeter le projet. Si le projet est approuvé, la division Urbanisme et permis pourrait émettre le permis.

Certains travaux à l'intérieur ou à l'extérieur exigent un permis émis par la division Urbanisme et permis. Il est donc fortement recommandé de communiquer avec ce service avant d'entreprendre des travaux. Par exemple, un permis est exigé pour installer une clôture, une galerie, une thermopompe, une remise ou une piscine.